Newly-formed Sharks romp to third consecutive title

Portsmouth Sharks
Portsmouth Sharks
Have your say

Portsmouth Sharks are celebrating a third league title in a row after romping to a 6-1 victory over Yateley IV on Saturday.

The club, which was only set up in 2011, won Hampshire division eight by five points and have already set their sights on a fourth successive promotion next season.

They wrapped up the title at their Milton Cross School home by crushing Yateley IV.

Jason Munns scored a hat-trick and he was joined on the scoresheet by Tim Warburton, Matt Jarvis and Nick Combes.

The Sharks were co-founded by Jim Clarke and Dave Chandler four years ago as an alternative to other clubs in the area.

They began in Hampshire division 10 and have quickly progressed through the county tiers.

The Sharks will now join more established clubs such as Portsmouth & Southsea, Fareham and Havant in division seven.

Captain and co-founder Clarke said: ‘We started in division 10 and finished fourth in our first year.

‘The next year we only lost one game and won the division. In the last three years, we’ve won the league every season.

‘We lost three players this year, so it’s a credit to the guys that we have been able to win the league again.

‘It’s been a real fight, though.

‘We’re a collection of players who have played together over the years for various clubs.

‘And there’s a very close bond between us.

‘I put our success down to a lot of hard work.

‘Everybody gives absolutely everything they’ve got in every match.’