Top gong for Havant

Havant chairman Bill Jones receives the award from mayor Ken Smith
Havant chairman Bill Jones receives the award from mayor Ken Smith
Share this article
Matt Cox scored for Havant. Picture: Keith Woodland

Havant unable to halt Olton counter charge

Have your say

Havant are celebrating success on and off the pitch.

The club’s first team are currently flying high in second spot in the England Hockey League conference west.

Three consecutive triumphs – the latest against south coast rivals Fareham – have left them leading the pursuit of runaway leaders Team Bath Buccaneers.

Havant’s premier ladies team are holding their own in south division one, while the relative second strings are embroiled in promotion battles.

But the Havant College-based club have been soaking up the plaudits away from the astroturf, too.

The Havant Borough Sports Association (HBSA) have recognised the club’s work and presented them with the prestigious club-of-the-year gong.

The 32nd annual Havant sports awards took place at the Park Community School, Leigh Park.

In front of mayor Ken Smith – and an audience of 150 people – the hockey club were announced winners and chairman Bill Jones accepted the trophy.

Jones said: ‘Winning league matches is enjoyable but this award is a great honour.

‘It is recognition for all the members of this much-respected club, who work so hard behind the scenes to give the club the reputation it enjoys.’

Club members also picked up individual awards at the ceremony.

Colin Bullimore was named official of the year, while Clive Lloyd was given the service-to-sport award.

It was perhaps fitting then, that guest speaker at the event was David Faulkner, the hockey club’s former Olympic gold medallist and director of hockey for London 2012.