Jafkins duo romp to Portsmouth pairs titleÂ

Chris Jafkins and Liam Jafkins claimed the Portsmouth Summer League pairs crown in style.

Tuesday, 2nd October 2018, 9:03 pm
Updated Tuesday, 2nd October 2018, 10:09 pm
Vince Aston and his partner and Dan Eade were pipped to the pair's title by Chris Jafkins and Liam Jafkins

The Rose in C duo beat Vince Aston and Dan Eade 4-1 in the final to clinch the silverware. 

Phoenix North End B's Aston and Eade took the initial lead.

But the Jafkins pair pulled level with a 15-dart leg before going on to take the next three legs, with Liam hitting a 115 finish for an 18-dart finish in the process.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The champions defeated team-mates Fon Owen and Trevor Rogers 3-0 in the semi-finals, having already dispatched Jolly Taxpayer C's Gary Smith and Lee Scattergood in the last eight.

Aston and Eade won their quarter-final tie against Jolly Taxpayer duo Dave Smith and Steve Humby, before throwing a 16 darter in a 3-2 triumph over Lord Chichester B's John Madgwick and Dean Charman in the last four.

Portland's Martyn Carlisle and Gregorio Bartayres and Lord Chichester B pair Ross Hughes and Justin Hughes also reached the quarters.

Meanwhile, Danny Smith was the form player in division one as the Admiral Drake B player went the entire season without losing a game to take the aggregate prize.

Portland Arms' Asa Norris recorded the highest finish with a 160 game shot.

The fastest leg was a three-way tie, with 13 darters from Jolly Taxpayer C duo Lee O'Donovan and Adam Fieldman, as well as Justin Hughes of Lord Chichester B.

Division two's aggregate winner Robert Scott, who represents George & Dragon B, also went the entire season undefeated.

King Street Tavern's 13-dart leg was the division's quickest game while John Cooper had the biggest check-out with a 143 game shot.

Rutland Arms dominated the individual honours in division three as Peter Neale and Steve Houghton took the aggregate crown, losing just two games each.

Neale also notched the fastest game with a 14-darter.

Terry Griffiths had the top finish after throwing a 141 game shot for Graham Arms.

Newcome Arms B's Mark Cunningham earned the aggregate and quickest game prizes in division four with two losses and a 15-dart leg.

David Holton was guaranteed the biggest finish prize when he notched a maximum 170 game shot for Rose in June A.