Oldfield's double seals promotion for Copnor

Copnor E gained promotion after a thrilling 9-3 win against Alexandra Bowls in division two.

Friday, 1st April 2016, 6:00 am
Andy Boulton

Copnor captain John Wyatt, Norman Bradfield and Phil Leddington all won.

It was then up to John Oldfield, who took both frames, which meant Copnor had won promotion by one point.

For the bowlers, Matt Sheath won his match with a 36 break.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Portchester X had a chance to gain promotion but came up just short despite winning 10-2 against Bellair B.

Lee Gaylor rolled in a 42 break and Jason Tame hit a 38 break as both won their singles.

And it was backed up by Karl Turp, Neil Turp and Ashley Bendell who all won their singles.

The only consolation for Bellair was Paul Jagger, who made a 38 break.

North End Bowls finished the season with a 10-2 win against SESA Broadoak.

For North End, Ian Pledge, Adrian Pledge, Mike Dorey and Colin Elliott all won a brace apiece to get them over the winning line.

Runaway leaders Bellair drew 6-6 with Cowplain Gas.

For Cowplain, Terry Lees won his two, but Matt Beardsworth cancelled that out by winning his frames.

Copnor Xcels secured second place in division three after beating Cowplain B 9-3.

Wayne Laxton gave Copnor a good start by winning his two frames, and Kevin Figgins, Andy Chambers and Tony Horten all won their games.

The only highlight for Cowplain was a good win for James Curtis.

Copnor Cuestars finished their season with a 10-2 win against Copnor F.

Mark Lloyd fired an 80 break on the way to winning his match.

Team-mates Ryan Compton, Rio Smith and Daniel Compton, with a 28-break, also won for Cuestars.

Craneswater Dandy won 11-1 against Cowplain C.

For Craneswater, Brian Elsegood, Mel Davies, Nick Hutton, Ioan Moon and Brian Garside all won comfortably.

Copnor A sealed second spot in division one after beating Copnor D 8-4.

For the A team, Steve Toms made a 75 break as he won, and this was helped by Jon Sunderland who did the same winning his two frames.

Cowplain Z edged Emsworth 7-5 as Greg Harding was the star for his team after he won both his frames.

But Cowplain’s Steve Hughes and Mark Tillison got their team over the winning line.

Champions Craneswater A earned a 9-3 win against Craneswater Q.

For the A team, Mike Talmondt, Mick Kirby and skipper Andy Boulton all got a brace apiece.

Al’s Bar concluded their season with an 8-4 victory over Cowplain A.

For Al’s club, Matt Hannam and Matt James shone.

In the other match, Craneswater Z lost 8-4 to LPWMC A.