Derby delight as Fawcett are beaten… Admiral Drake crush Shearer Arms

Derby Tavern leapfrogged Fawcett Inn A in division four of the Portsmouth Men’s Summer League as they beat them 6-3.

Wednesday, 15th May 2019, 11:30 am
Portland Arms have made a good start to the new season. Picture: Keith Woodland (270419-46)

Anthony Goodeve gave Fawcett the initial advantage in the darts clash before Robbie Brooks, Shane Plummer and Anthony Plummer put Derby 3-1 up, writes Lee Todd.

Sonnie Aird halved Fawcett’s deficit but it was to no avail as a win from Frank Woodward and walkover for Russell Swain-Edwards gave Derby an insurmountable lead.

Josh Olden won a consolation leg for Fawcett before Les Browne added Derby’s sixth.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Stag A stay undefeated in division five thanks to a 5-4 triumph over Harvest Home.

Harvest went 2-0 up with legs from Phil King and Liam Thomson but Stag moved just a win from victory as Mick Neilson, Roy Sands, Aaron Thomas and Ian Neilson rattled off four on the trot.

David King kept Harvest in the match but it was a short reprieve as Stag’s Steve Leigh won the penultimate tie.

Michael Griffin won the final leg for Harvest.

Admiral Drake B demolished Shearer Arms 8-1 in division one.

Drake wasted no time as Sam Head, Gary Collis, Dennis Smith, Barry Stevens, with a 180, and Phil Harty, who fired a 16-dart leg, propelled them into a 5-0 lead. Del Thomson scored 180 against Smith.

Sets from James Brooker and Ben Huntingdon and a walkover for Mike Symes completed Drake’s tally while Paul Wain was on hand for Shearer to prevent a whitewash.

Portland Arms are among the early pace setters in division two as their 5-4 win against Apsley House keeps them top of the table.

Richard Oliver and Martin Carlyle put Portland 2-1 up with sets either side of an Apsley win from Ian Leighfield.

Keith Mayne extended Portland’s lead only for Gareth Rees and Colin Burton to restore parity for Apsley.

Joe Sweetman put Portland on the brink of victory but Apsley’s Tom Debowski won the next set to force a decider which Gregorio Bartayres won for Portland.

Raven’s 6-3 win over British Queen keeps them undefeated in division three.

Raven went 3-0 up thanks to Allen Unwin, Robin Ashman and Paul Marsh.

Mark Cunningham got Queen off the mark before Jordan Hopper made it 4-3 to Raven.

Queen’s Nick Hatherley and Bob Hatherley kept their side in the match before John Garnett and Mick Tate won the last two sets for Raven to bag the points.

Shaun Roberts (Rose in June C) threw a 13-dart leg while Paul La Roche (Jolly Taxpayer C) finished a leg in 14 darts and Charlie Linkhorn (Milton Arms) notched a 15-darter and 180.

Neil Hallett (Druids Arms A) had a 16-dart effort and there were 18-dart legs from Danny Harmer (Pelham Arms), Kevin Gilchrist (Lord Chichester B), Bradley Mulholland (Phoenix North End B), David Place Jnr (Stag B), Shaun O’Donovan and Andy Newcombe (both Jolly Taxpayer C), with Gilchrist, O’Donovan and Newcombe checking out on 136, 130 and 119 respectively.

David Smith (Jolly Taxpayer C) hit an impressive 167 finish, Jon Davison (Lady Hamilton) registered a 150 game-shot and Chris Little (Fountain) checked out with 142 and scored 165.

Darren Barnes (Lord Chichester B) recorded a 116 game-shot, Colin Ayling (Fountain) finished a leg with 105 and Ian Marsh (Druids Arms) checked-out on 104.

Dave Smith (Stag B), Steve Todd (Fountain), Nigel Coleman (Druids Arms B), Lee O’Donovan (Jolly Taxpayer C), Mark Mihell (Graham Arms), Jamie Stewart (Phoenix North End B), Darrell Manchip (Artillery Arms) and Steve Greenwood (Pelham Arms) all fired in maximums.