Phoenix climb higher than Thatchers

Phoenix North End C leapfrogged Thatchers B in Portsmouth Men's Summer League division C table after beating them 7-2.

Thursday, 21st July 2016, 7:00 am
Jim Snook. Picture: Allan Hutchings (120300-0515)

Thatchers took a 2-0 lead with a win from Mark Standen and 120 finish by Danny Legg – despite Liam Thomson scoring 180 for Phoenix.

However, that was all they could muster as Mick Winkley, Rob Thomson, Peter Callard, Terry Scullion and Trevor Cawte swept the North End side to victory.

Phoenix’s Mark Vipond and Arthur Hawkins were awarded the remaining ties as walkovers.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Stag B opened up a two-point lead ahead of division C’s third-placed side after they triumphed 6-3 over Baffins.

Jim Snook and Dion Jukes – with a 15-dart leg – gave Stag an early lead but their rivals immediately hit back with Mick Chandler and Piers Howorth on the mark.

Stag wasted no further time in bagging the points, though, with legs from Steve Clark, Mark Barnes and Mark Cunningham.

Fred Fuggle won the penultimate leg as a consolation for Baffins before Dave Smith added Stag’s sixth.

Barley Mow enjoyed a 5-4 victory over Harvest Home A in division D.

Both sides gave away walkovers with Mow’s David Plaiter Jnr and Don Bromhead and Harvest’s Darren Holdsworth all awarded wins.

David Place Jnr put Harvest back on level terms but Mow rattled off three on the trot through Tony Leppard, David Plaiter Snr and Andrew Plaiter.

Joel Like and Craig Bridgewater took consolation legs for Harvest.

Newcome Arms A kept themselves firmly in division A’s title race as they dispatched Shearer Arms 5-4.

Paul Richmond and Frankie Howard put them 2-0 up before Shearer gained the lead with sets from Sam Palmer, Lee Brothers and Paul Wain.

Del Thomson threw a 15-dart leg as he pulled Newcome level and Darren Barnes and Darrell Manchip took the next two clashes to make it 5-3. Wes Farminer won the last set for Shearer.

Craig McEwan (Phoenix North End B) threw a 15-dart leg and 160 game-shot, while Sam Head (Admiral Drake B) recorded a 16-darter with two 180s.

Danny Smith (Admiral Drake B) notched a pair of 17-dart legs, while Connor Smith (Druids Arms A), Dean Jones, David Patourel (both Lord Chichester B), Steve Filby and Paul La Roche (both Jolly Taxpayer C) all finished legs in 18 darts. Smith checked out on 116, while Jones and Filby both scored 180s.

Michael Bowbrick (Clarence Gardens) hit a 130 finish, David Tait (Phoenix Southsea) had a 127 game-shot and Gary Collis (Admiral Drake B), Steve Ockendon (Jolly Taxpayer C) and Gregolio Bartayre (Portland Arms) checked out on 115, 113 and 111 respectively.

Neil Hallett (Druids Arms A) and Brian Colenutt (Mr Pickwick B) both fired in maximums.