Phoenix Southsea rise to the occasion to defeat Druids

Phoenix Southsea leapfrogged Druids Arms B in division three of the Portsmouth Men's League after they secured a 5-4 win against their rivals.

Tuesday, 30th October 2018, 11:00 am
Updated Tuesday, 30th October 2018, 12:10 pm
Shane Plummer couldn't prevent George &Dragon A suffering defeat at the hands of Graham Arms

Ryan Anders and David Mitchell gave Phoenix a 2-0 lead, before Sean Etherington could get Druids off the mark.

An 18-dart leg from John Lloyd got Phoenix back to winning ways and John Nash moved them to within a set of taking the match.

A walkover for Brian Attfield and win by Tony Smith kept Druids' hopes alive, before Ben Barnes won the penultimate leg to give Phoenix victory.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Chris Brown took the last set as a consolation for Druids.

Graham Arms led throughout their division four match with George & Dragon A, emerging as 6-3 winners.

Graham wasted little time in bagging the points, with Terry Griffiths, Alan Duffin, Allen Watson, Rob Knowles and Martin Simmons building up a 5-1 lead, with only Robbie Brooks mustering an early win for George.

Anthony Plummer and Shane Plummer won consolations for George either side of Mark Morgan adding Graham's sixth.

Mermaid stay undefeated in division five following a 6-3 triumph over Barley Mow.

Bill Messenbird, Mick McDaid, Arnie Le Rouge, Kelvin Fletcher, Jamie Poulter and Gary Hornby propelled Mermaid into a 6-0 lead.

Mow made the scoreline more respectable after Adam Plater, Andrew Lawson and Rae Lawson won the last three legs.

Druids Arms A earned their first points of the season as they dispatched Artillery Arms 5-4

Lee Davies won the opener for Artillery, before Ian Marsh, Charlie Hymers and Neil Hallett were on the mark to move Druids 3-1 up.

Artillery's Graham Davies pulled a set back, before Pete Smith made it 4-2 to Druids.

Barry Lennard kept Artillery in the match, before Darren Maplesden gave Druids an insurmountable lead.

Artillery's Jim Adams can take comfort from a 143 finish as he won the final set.

Portland Arms top division two thanks to an 8-1 demolition of George & Dragon B.

Portland had to come from behind as George's Gareth Young won the opening set with a 121 finish.

But it was one-way traffic from there on, with Asa Norris, Joe Sweetman, Gregorio Bartayres, Richard Oliver, Dave Stewart, Ben Watson, Keith Mayne and Julian Whelan helping Arms storm to victory.

John Madgwick (Lord Chichester B) threw a 14-dart leg and 100 game-shot, while Paul La Roche (Jolly Taxpayer C) notched 15 and 17 darters.

Danny Smith, Mike Symes and Ricky Williams (all Admiral Drake B) recorded 15, 16 and 17-dart efforts respectively, with Symes and Williams scoring 180s.

Michael Neat (Rose in June B) and Darren Barnes (Lord Chichester B) also finished legs in 17 darts, with Neat hitting 171, while there were 18-dart games by Andy Newcombe (Jolly Taxpayer C), Sam Palmer, Ricky Udy (Shearer Arms), David Clarke (Jolly Taxpayer B), Chris Jafkins (Rose in June C) and Justin Bradshaw (Admiral Drake B).

Newcome also hit a 180 and 105 finish and Udy checked-out on 111.

Paul Slingsby (Shearer Arms) had a 138 finish and Paul Garland (Milton Arms) hit a 101 finish and 180.

Neil Silvester (Milton Arms), Keiran Avery (Rose in June B), Ian Leighfield (Apsley House), Lee O'Donovan (Jolly Taxpayer C), Dave Paul (Froddington Arms) and Peter Lamb (Thatchers) all fired in maximums.