Sailors get the Feva at Hayling

Dylan McPherson and Dylan Collingbourne claimed victory in the RS Feva Spring Championships.

Tuesday, 22nd March 2016, 7:30 am
Freddie Wood was among the winners at our Sports Awards last year. Picture: Allan Hutchings (150265-254)

There was a bumper turn out of 69 teams for the event, hosted by Hayling Island formerly known as the Hayling All Squads weekend.

McPherson and Collingbourne, from Burnham, took top spot with a total of 21 points across the six races.

Northampton duo Ossian Bracegirdle and Josh Bonsey were second on 26, with Hayling pair Henry Jameson and Rupert Jameson in third on the same score.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Caitlin Webster and Niamh Davies, also of Burnham, were the top girls, while Exe sailor Jack Francis took a special award for his perseverance.

Race one saw the Jamesons battle their way through the fleet to take the win with Freddie Peters and Louis Johnson (HISC) second.

Freddy Wood and Christopher Clarke, also from the host club, finished third.

In race two, Bracegirdle and Bonsey shot out of the pin end of the line, cleared the fleet and pulled away to gain an impressive win.

Jack Miller and Lauren Bentley, of Felpham, were second with Herne Bay duo Michael and Samuel Dyer third.

There was frustration in the third race, with the tide turning and catching many sailors out at the start.

Bracegirdle and Bonsey favoured the pin end of the line again and took the win.

McPherson and Collingbourne were second with Wood and Clarke again racing on to the podium.

Much like the previous day, a steady north easterly breeze met the racers on Sunday.

The Dyers pulled away from the fleet to take victory for Herne Bay in the opener.

Pierce Harris and Alfie Cogger, from Windermere School, were second, with Webster and Davis third.

The fifth race of the meeting saw Freddie Peters and Louis Johnson read the conditions brilliantly to win from Bracegirdle and Bonsey, with Henry and Jamie Rastrick, of Yorkshire Dales/Ripon, in third position.

William Pank (Norfolk Broads) and Finley Dickinson won the final race, from Matt Taylor and Will Carron.

Bracegirdle and Bonsey completed a good weekend with third as they clinched second overall.