Craneswater are on a roll as Al’s Club give chase

Pedro Ferguson. Picture: Mick Young
Pedro Ferguson. Picture: Mick Young
Have your say

It was another routine week for reigning champions Craneswater A as they put Copnor A in their place with an easy 9-3 victory.

Ant Lacey kept the score down with a late double.

Mike Talmondt, with a 51, Pedro Ferguson, who made a 49, Andy Boulton, 44 and 39, and Rob Kirby increased the team’s top-flight lead to 19 points after only seven games.

Al’s Club are going well in second and they cruised through in similar fashion at Craneswater Q.

The trio of Matt James, Trev Sanders and Matt Hannam dominated at the Southsea club.

Danny Lumsden was on song for Leigh Park A with a 46.

But he finished on the losing team as Phil Andrews and Tommy O’Neil gave skip Chris Hardyman backing for an 8-4 Emsworth win.

Cowplain Z recorded a win over their A team.

It was close but skipper Dave Parsons and Frank Baxter rubbed out a double from Dave Rees for a 7-5 win.

In division two, North End Bowls ended Bellair A’s unbeaten record with a 7-5 scoreline.

Ian Pledge and Mike Dorey bagged a brace, before Phil Skinner closed things up late on.

Copnor E improved at Broadoak with an 8-4 success.

Stacey Wearn and John Shervell pulled the visitors through.

It was a swansong from Shervell before a move to Spain.

Gary Kirby rattled up a 51 break for Cowplain Gas in a 6-6 with Portchester X.

Paul Lees won both after Jason Tame and Neil Turp had inflicted early blows.

Alexandra Bowling and Craneswater R also drew as Harry Yard and Andy Carter equalised efforts from Matt Sheath and Karl Davies.

Pompey Royals beat Copnor F 9-3 in division three.

Chad Wainwight registered a 42 but Rob Derry took the other frame.

Jason Orchard, John Challacombe, with a 30, Paul Chivers and Paul Tinsley were also on target before Gary Green pulled two back.

Craneswater D suffered two 8-4 defeats.

Copnor Cuestars and Leigh Park B did the damage.

Kelvin Connor and Keith Neil scored for Cowplain C and Pete Gorvin and James Curtis sealed a draw for the B team.