Cuestars in last eight as Cowplain C are crushed

Mike Talmondt
Mike Talmondt
Have your say

Copnor Cuestars have booked a quarter-final spot in the Peter Rook Cup with a game to spare.

The division three leaders dispatched Cowplain C 11-1.

The handicaps didn’t make a massive difference, either, with the youngsters getting a 30-point boost.

Mark Lloyd got them off to a good start before the Comptons and Whites bagged braces.

Barry Doswell stopped the rot as he held Ben Tillison to a draw.

Cowplain B also came unstuck as Copnor F returned home with an 8-4 success.

Rob Derry and Gary Green pocketed two each.

Copnor Xcels were also on song at Pompey Royals – chalking up a 9-3 scoreline.

Chad Wainwright fought a losing battle against a quartet of Kev Figgins, Dave Wheeler, Graham Farr and skipper Dave Gowing.

It was a bad week for Copnor A in the top flight.

They lost 7-5 against Emsworth in the scratch table and salvaged a draw against Cowplain A two days later.

Scott Compton ran in breaks of 49, 48, 37 and 36 to save his side after Dave Rees and Steve Wilson had rubbed out an early score by Jon Sunderland.

Craneswater Z beat Emsworth 9-3 to stay top.

Dave Carter Mark Jones and Nigel Ward were on song.

Leigh Park A boosted their hopes with a 7-5 home verdict over Craneswater Q, thanks to Richie Burnett.

The Workies are in second spot with one match left.

Craneswater A still have a chance after an 8-4 triumph at Al’s Club.

Chris Bishop was on target for the Portchester outfit but Andy Boulton, Colin Rowe and Mike Talmondt had dominated early on.

Darren Loveday, Bob Baldacchino and Tim Coombs edged Copnor D to a narrow 7-5 win at Cowplain Z.

Steve Hughes and Trev Powell were the home stars.

Craneswater R ended Bellair B’s unbeaten record and moved top of the table as they completed their division two fixtures with a 7-5 success.

Martyn Power and Liam Melia hit late doubles to erase a John Morrison score.

Pete Rook’s early 32 could not prevent Copnor E losing 8-4 to Cowplain Gas.

Neil Kirby, Gary Swatton and Carl Fuggle were key for the victors.

Alexandra beat Portchester X 8-4 with Ian Cotton, Paul Taylor and Tony Best in fine form.

Broadoak beat Bellair A 7-5 as Graham Shervell, Claire Branscombe and Simon Fleming outshone Phil Skinner and Steve Whitney.