Holders tipped to pocket another Portsmouth crown

editorial image
Jamie Wilson. Picture: Tim Dunkley

Craneswater back in hunt to pick up prize

Have your say

Craneswater A are hot favourites to defend their title as the Portsmouth League’s summer campaign gets under way.

Tony Hansford can rely on Andy Boulton, Dave Lawrence and Steve Toms turning on the style.

Mike Talmondt and Steve Cole are also able cueists for the team who recently took the President’s Cup crown.

Craneswater won promotion thanks to the class of Emma Bonney and Nigel Ward.

Skipper Ian Carter can call on Aaron Brett and Mark Jones, too.

Two teams are billeted at Bellair. Lee Harding leads the A team, with Steve Witney and the evergreen Jim Hutton.

The B side have moved from the nearby Havant Club and feature Tony May and John Morrison.

The Copnor teams boast lots of experience. Scott Compton, Steve Morgan and Jon Sunder-land all pot well, while John Wyatt’s B team are the golden oldies with John Oldfield as their star turn.

Jason Tame’s Portchester X have calmed down of late but the Castle Street venue is still lively and has quality tables.

Emsworth contain the former Water Company men.

Chris Hardyman, Greg Harding and Hugh Pollard now seem at home there.

Copnor D and Craneswater R should be among the front runners in division two.

Dave Glover is skipper for Copnor with Tim Coombs and Tony Bushnell involved.

The Southsea side, led by John Peers, have done well over the last year.

Andy White and Gary More are consistent performers.

Craneswater Q are the team relocated from Waverley.

Lee Paice, Stu Calver and Graeme Tregardine form a talented trio.

The other clubs are Carlton, Alexandra Bowls, Leigh Park, Post Office and North End Bowls.

Division three promises to be open. The two Cowplain squads have Doug Powell and Ted Dowse at the helm.

Copnor Cue Stars are coming along nicely, whereas the F team have the knowledge.

Pompey Royals and Top Spot complete the list.