Lawrence ton helps Copnor C march on

Dave Lawrence rolled in a ton
Dave Lawrence rolled in a ton
Brett Wallace. Picture: Tim Dunkley

Brett Wallace is top class

Have your say

Dave Lawrence kept Copnor C on course for a hat-trick of President’s Cup wins with a superb ton.

His outstanding break of 101 put the Chinos into the semi-final of the Portsmouth & District billiards competition at the expense of Copnor F.

Handicap rules meant Lawrence gave a hefty start of around 200 points to Barry Wooley.

But that lead counted for little as Lawrence still managed to win by more than 90 points.

Lawrence’s father, Steve, was also in good nick.

He hammered Dave Ellis as the minnows were largely kept in their seats.

Young ace Rob Derry managed to claw one back against Phil Ledington.

But Baz Mihell, Tony Simmons and Steve Kearn wrapped up the game with an 844-625 victory.

Craneswater A lost in the final two years ago.

But they still have high hopes after thrashing club-mates Craneswater R.

Andy Carter made a half-century but it was to no avail as the big guns eased to victory.

Gary More was on target for John Peers’ men.

But Mike Talmondt, Steve Toms, Andy Boulton, Colin Rowe and Steve Cole fired the A men to an 896-640 win at Southsea.

The other two ties were closer.

Carlton got the better of Copnor Xcels with an 825-783 victory.

Skipper Dave Gowing and his team-mate Kevin Figgins were outstanding for the Xcels but could not save them.

The Hillsiders were happy at the end thanks to Mel Davis, Gary Marshall, Jeff Oakes and captain Alan Munday.

Meanwhile, Ian Carter led by example for Craneswater Z in their 815-769 win over Copnor A.

Carter fired a break of 39 but more good work came from Mark Jones and Arthur Newland.

Steve Morgan, Kev Harding and Jon Sunderland did their best but the A men fell short.

The one remaining match in division two went to Craneswater R as they bagged a 5-2 win over Craneswater Z.

More was at the top of his game again as he knocked in a 43 to beat Arthur Newland.

Simon Petrie and Nigel Ward countered but Andy White, Harry Yard and Brian Garside grabbed the bragging rights.

Craneswater R climbed to the summit with victory.