Leigh Park seal the title

090281-14_snooker'Portsmouth Snooker Club'Portsmouth 'A' v Water Company.'Water Company - Chris Hardiman.'Portsmouth 'A', Barry Turner .'Pic Mick Young
090281-14_snooker'Portsmouth Snooker Club'Portsmouth 'A' v Water Company.'Water Company - Chris Hardiman.'Portsmouth 'A', Barry Turner .'Pic Mick Young
Thomas Sharp. Picture: Tim Dunkley

Thomas is looking Sharp

Have your say

leigh park held their nerve at crunch time as they took the division three title.

There was no stopping Dean Bates’ Miscues when they saw off North End Bowls 6-3 at Dunsbury Way.

Experienced trio Mark Raynor, Richie Burnett and Danny Lumsden bagged a brace each.

Their display gave Miscues the title by two points.

Mike Dorey and Richard Jones tried to stop the rot but, against four cueists with top-flight ability, their efforts proved not enough.

Craneswater R had to settle for the runners-up spot, which they shared with Waverley, after a 5-4 win over Alexandra.

Brian Garside and Gary Moore were both on target for John Peers’ men in a hard-fought encounter.

Matt Sheath, Karl Davies and Ian Cotton were the pick for the bowling outfit.

Waverley notched their seventh win in 10 matches at the expense of basement boys Leigh Park B.

Jamie McSherry and Ringo Polley were outstanding with two wins each.

Tony Lee and skipper Lee Paice also delivered.

Bill Parsons was the top visitor.

Al’s Club and Emsworth are facing a play-off to decide who goes down to division one.

The Waterboys fought back but went down 5-4 in their match at Post Office.

Jamie Farrow, Tom Sproates, Matt Paffett and Dave Hume put the posties 4-2 up.

That came after a good start from Hugh Pollard and Greg Harding.

John Sproates and Paffett then made it 5-2.

Pollard and captain Chris Hardyman got one back for the visitors and the combination of Phil Andrews and Tommy O’Neil kept it respectable in a 5-4 scoreline.

Scott Compton starred for Copnor A with a 58 break against Pete Oughton.

Craneswater A showed their class, though, as Steve Toms, Steve Cole, Andy Boulton and Tony Hansford kept the champions in front for a 6-3 win.

The already-crowned division two champs Craneswater Z took their foot off the gas.

They slid to a 5-4 defeat as Copnor B visited.

Ian Carter, Nigel Ward and Jason Taylor got the home side off to a decent start.

But Norman Bradfield, Peter Rook and John Oldfield had other ideas and led the fightback.

Carter and Mark Jones put the Southsea men ahead 4-3 as the match swung back in their favour.

However, John Wyatt and John Shervell joined the fray, teaming up with Rook and Bradfield to turn it around for a great victory for the ‘golden oldies’.

Havant Club 1888 avoided the drop with a 5-4 win at Portchester X.

Neil Turp, Andy Macey and Lee Gaylor scored for Jason Tame’s gang but Matt Beardsworth, Wayne Tulley and Tony May squared it up at 3-3.

May and Tulley then got support from Andy Peat and Paul Merrett to take two of the pairs successes for a valuable haul.

In division four, Cowplain claimed a safe mid-table berth with a 5-4 success over Copnor F.

Roy Steere and Richard Pitman both chalked up doubles for Doug Powell’s charges.

Dave Ellis and Alan Wakefield shone in similar fashion for Copnor.

Terry Hickley’s Top Spot squad suffered an 8-1 mauling at Broadoak as slick Portsmouth Royals recorded an emphatic triumph.

The Havant side only needed the one frame from the tussle to lift the title.

They got it when skipper Martin Challacombe stepped up to the plate.

Jason Orchard, Paul Tinsley and Chris Pugh were among those on song for the Royals as they finished in second place.