Maximum effort has Copnor moving clear of rivals

Copnor B are flying high at the top
Copnor B are flying high at the top
Lewis Wilson

Waterlooville on point in Peter Rook Cup

Have your say

Copnor B roared to a maximum return against bottom-side Al’s Club to extend their lead in the top division.

Pascal Richard’s outfit hold a six-point advantage in the chase for the top prize in the Portsmouth Snooker League.

Simon Munday put in the best work with strong visits of 51, 42 and 37 in the 12-0 success.

There were also doubles for Dave Lawrence, Jordan Winbourne, Kevin Seaman and Dave Hunt.

Second-placed Fareham were forced to settle for a 7-5 win at Post Office.

Mick Ward and Colin Norton shaded it despite the efforts of Jamie Farrow.

Steve Cole’s 79 break was good for one frame against Ant Lacey in Waterlooville’s draw at Copnor A.

Scott Compton scored for the home team before Richard Bridle squared it up.

Craneswater A enjoyed an 8-4 win over their C team club-mates.

Andy Boulton, Tony Hansford and Steve Toms were on target for the reigning champions before Pedro Ferguson replied the C squad.

Mike Talmondt ran in a 50 against Martin Hawkins but lost the other frame as the latter bettered it with a 55.

Bellair made sure Copnor C did not make up any ground near the bottom.

Steve Kearn and Steve Baldacchino won both for the Chino’s but it was soon all square as Lee Harding and Steve Whitney hit back.

Jason Tame’s Portchester X gang went further ahead in division two.

They crushed lowly Gas 9-3 at Castle Street to move six points clear. Darren Inch and the two Turps were all 2-0 winners.

Second-placed Portsmouth D still look good for the other promotion spot thanks to an emphatic 9-3 success at Emsworth Water. Chris Hardyman tried to rally his home troops but John Creamer, James Green, Matt Gates and Dan Ayling enjoyed themselves.

Leigh Park held out for a draw as third-placed Copnor D visited the Workies.

Mark Raynor and Richard Burnett rubbed out away wins by Bob Baldacchino and young Tony Simmons.

Wayne Tolley, Jim Baldwin and Shaun Picton formed a match-winning trio for Emsworth A at Waterlooville. Heath Smith managed to stem the tide.

Jamie Shardlow and Barry Vokes won both for Top Spot before Ian Carter, Aaron Brett and Mark Jones gave Craneswater Z a 7-5 success.

Division three leaders Cowplain A bagged another emphatic haul at Waterlooville Z.

Paul Sweatman, Russ Linkhorn and the Stewarts were all on song as the Plain stretched their lead to 15 points.

Copnor E occupy second place after thumping Craneswater 9-3.

It could have been more but Carl Fuggle and Rob Dandy stole two racks on the black ball.

Peter Rook, John Oldfield and John Wyatt did not allow their opponents to get close.

Broadoak played twice and lost both. Cowplain beat them 9-3 and Alexandra recorded an 8-4 with doubles from Ian Cotton and Matt Sheath.

‘Little Bill’ Parsons and Paul Harvey notched home wins at Co-op but the Divimen were pegged back by Mel Davis and Roger Mo as Carlton shared the points.

Waverley Bowls maintained their momentum in division four with a 9-3 triumph at Cowplain.

Gary Curtis was a home winner before Tony Lee, Jamie Polley, Bob Hayward and Lee Paice put the leaders well clear.

Copnor Mavericks scraped to a 7-5 win against the in-form Leigh Park Miscues. Dave Gowing, Jim Smith and Kevin Figgins rubbed out doubles by Dean Bates and Jody Gough.

Waterlooville E lost ground with a 6-6 scoreline against Craneswater Steelers as Harry Yard and James McSherry resisted.

The Chivers family were pleased in division five as Portsmouth Royals beat Waterlooville P 8-4 to move top of the pile.

Waterlooville F fared better than their club-mates, pinching a 7-5 against Copnor, with Dave Weedon, Mike Tilbury and Ray Axton all bagging doubles.