Plain and simple for Parsons’ men

Daniel Compton
Daniel Compton
Share this article
Lewis Wilson

Waterlooville on point in Peter Rook Cup

Have your say

Cowplain Z made a flying start to the season with a resounding 10-2 success against Bellair A.

Long-serving captain Dave Parsons led the way with an opening brace in the Peter Rook Cup encounter.

Steve Hughes also did well, while Frank Baxter and Rob Furby were in form.

Bellair B also suffered as Copnor D recorded a 7-5 success.

Bob Baldacchino and Andy Hall both made the most of double-figure starts against John Morrison and Wayne Talley.

Paul Jagger hit a 34 break as he notched a home win to keep it close.

Tony May ran in a 38 and Dave Glover fired a 46 but they had to settle for a draw.

Newly-promoted Copnor Xcels shocked relegated Portchester X 9-3 with the help of 105 points start and could qualify for the latter stages of the competition.

Darren O’Hara was the only visitor to rub his handicap off as Tony Horten Dave Wheeler and Barry Figgins produced the goods for Dave Gowings men.

Gary More made a 53 as Craneswater R saw off Cowplain Gas with a 7-5 success.

Andy White and Chris Davies were on song for the Southsea tribe but Gary Kirby would not give up.

In the top-flight, Craneswater A are favourites for the league title, however the handicap cup will not be easy.

Home skip Andy Boulton hit a 61 before doubles by Greg Harding and Gary Mengham gave Emsworth an 8-4 victory at Highland Road.

Elliot Wong’s 54 put Copnor A on course for a 10-2 success over newcomers Craneswater Q.

Steve Toms, Jon Sunderland and Scott Compton were also on target in a one-sided affair.

Leigh Park opened with an 8-4 win against Craneswater Z.

Nigel Ward fired a 49 for the Southsea men before Danny Lumsden, Bill Parsons and Ricky Burnett took over to give Neville Moyle’s gang a dream start.

Matt Hannam and Justin Andrews were on form at Al’s Club before Russ Linkhorn and Colin Skeggs hit back to give Cowplain A a 6-6 draw.

Copnor Cuestars A recorded the best win in division three with a 9-3 win over Broadoak.

Luke Dixon, Brad Wrench and Dan Compton made home advantage count.

Carlton lost 8-4 to Post Office despite a good effort from Richard Reynolds.

Richard Smart, Andy McWiggan and Jim Farrow made sure the visitors stayed in front.

Copnor E also chalked up an 8-4 at North End Bowls.

Ian Pledge was a lone home winner as an ageless trio of John Shervell, Den Hushley and John Oldfield set to work.

Leigh Park WMC B duo Dean Bates and Colin Ricketts could not stop Alexandra sealing a 7-5 victory with Matt Sheath, Martin Power and Karl Davies winning.

In division four, Pompey Royals made Craneswater suffer.

Jason Orchard, Steve Orchard and the Chivers family made them pay.

Darren Emms managed to keep the score down.

Will Garrett’s brace got Cowplain B off to a good start with a 7-5 win over Topspot.

Cuestars B and Copnor F both enjoyed 8-4 successes.

The youngsters beat Castle Heating with wins by Rio Smith and Callum White, while the Derrys helped beat Cowplain C.