Royals crowned champions

081903-07_billiards'Dave Chivers (Portsmouth 'B' captain).'Pic Mick Young
081903-07_billiards'Dave Chivers (Portsmouth 'B' captain).'Pic Mick Young
Share this article
Lewis Wilson

Waterlooville on point in Peter Rook Cup

Have your say

Portsmouth Royals took the Portsmouth & District Summer League division four title.

It was plain sailing as they recorded eight wins and suffered only one defeat.

They eased to a 7-2 against Copnor F in their last match.

Skipper Dave Chivers, his son Paul, John Wilson and Chris Pugh all took doubles.

Tony Horton was the pick of the bunch for Copnor.

Waterlooville E recorded a 7-2 against Cowplain as they picked up second spot.

Martyn Johnson, Steve Wilson and Shaun Hounsome kept captain Terry Hickley smiling.

There is one round of matches left to play in the other three divisions.

Waterlooville Z are level with Emsworth at the top of division three, on 47 points, going into the final game between the sides.

A 7-2 triumph at Leigh Park B, put Waterlooville back on level terms at the top.

Dave Riddell did his best to keep them at bay but his Leigh Park team-mates were below par.

Ian Pledge was happy with his double and Rob Jones, Ade Pledge and Mike Dorey also did well.

Emsworth saw off Leigh Park Miscues 6-3.

Shaun Picton, Jim Baldwin and Wayne Talley all won twice to set up a thrilling clash on the last day of the season.

It’s also a shoot-out for sudden death on the final day.

Waverley Bowls moved up with a 5-4 win over hosts Craneswater and will battle the Miscues for the bronze spot.

Harry Yard, John Peers and Brian Garside scored late on to rub out a good start by the bowlers.

Jamie Polley, Dave Egan and Brian Redmonds made a great start but it was soon 3-3.

Egan and Tony Lee pinched the last pairs after the first two were shared.

Top-flight winners Fareham thumped Copnor B 8-1 in their own back yard.

John Oldfield prevented the whitewash, beating Adam Bobat with a 32 break.

The Fareham all stars racked up some good breaks with Scott Stoneage firing a 49, Paul Foster potting a 43, Colin Norton a 47 and a 42, and Mick Jurd with a 45.

Craneswater A made second spot safe as they enjoyed a 7-2 win at Bellair.

Pedro Ferguson put the visitors ahead but Greg Jones made it 1-1.

Mike Talmondt, Emma Bonney, Colin Rowe and captain Tony Hansford made it 5-1 to the A squad.

Steve Toms got going in the pairs, helping Bonney while Hansford and Rowe took it to 7-1.

The last frame went to the Havant side as Jones showed his class again, alongside Mark Horton.

Matt Paffett’s fine form continued with breaks of 48 and 37 to help Post Office thrash Copnor A 8-1.

Mick Hall stopped the clean sweep but Dave Hume, Tom Sproates, Jamie Farrow and Jon Challacomb ran riot.

Portchester X stretched their lead in division two, to three points with a 5-4 win over arch-rivals Emsworth.

However, it is not done and dusted for league glory.

The X men face a tricky fixture at Craneswater while Emsworth host lowly Alexandra.

Emsworth took the first two against the X men, with Greg Harding and Hugh Pollard (41 break) on song.

Jason Tame’s gang struck back as Darren O’Hara, Karl Turp (32 break) and Lee Gaylor combined with their skipper to make it 4-2.

The first two pairs were snapped up by the visitors as Tommy O’Neil and Shaun Toms found their touch.

And the last frame was, but O’Hara and Turp held their nerve to fire what may prove the decisive blow in the title race.

Copnor D crashed 8-1 at lowly Alexandra Bowls, who had managed only 12 points previously.

Matt Sheath, Paul Taylor, Karl Davies, Dave Harfield and Alan Freemantle chalked up doubles for Alexandra.