Taxpayer in Jolly mood after Challenge victory

Jolly Taxpayer C claimed the Denise Neale Challenge Cup title as they overcame Shearer Arms 5-4 in an entertaining final.

Thursday, 22nd September 2016, 8:00 am
Updated Wednesday, 5th October 2016, 2:29 pm
Rich North, right, claimed the £400 winners prize in Portsmouth Darts Series Justice competition

Lee O’Donovan scored 180 for Taxpayer in the opening leg but it couldn’t stop Jon Bramble from putting Shearer 1-0 up.

Dan Stapley pulled Taxpayer level but Sam Palmer immediately put Shearer back in front.

Three on the trot from Jim Mortimer, Andy Newcombe and Steve Ockendon put Taxpayer in the driving seat, with Ockendon recording a 14-darter.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Steve Marsh won the next leg to keep Shearer in the match but Paul la Roche took the penultimate clash to give Taxpayer the cup crown.

Ricky Udy won the last leg as a consolation for Shearer.

Red White & Blue beat Graham Arms A 6-3 to win the final of the Ron Neale Shield.

Pete McKeon, Brad Sanders and Keith Elford put Red White & Blue 3-0 up but Graham hit back to square the match as Martin Simmons, Jim West and Allen Duffin made it 3-3, with Simmons firing in a 141 game-shot.

However that was all Graham could muster as Graham Tobitt, Jim Scammell and Steve Fell sealed victory.

Elsewhere. Rich North claimed the £400 winner’s prize in Portsmouth Darts Series’ Justice competition at The Fareham pub.

North sealed victory with a 5-3 triumph over Linton Hickman in the final, having previously dispatched Steve Jannaway 4-0 in the semis and Danny Smith 4-3 in the last eight.

Hickman won his quarter-final against Chaz Barstow 4-3 before going on to overcome Lee Turle 4-3 in the next round.

Tim Hope and Gary Blackwood both reached the last eight.

Jane Monaghan took the ladies’ crown beating Tracy North 5-2 in the final.

Monaghan won her semi-final against Laura Huartson 4-0 while North beat Clare Cheney 4-1.

Jacqui Ewens, Katie Huartson, Cheryl Nibbs and Michelle Dance were the losing quarter-finalists.

Ryan Groves beat Josh Langridge 3-2 in the youth final, John Large won the plate with a 2-0 triumph against Sam Smith in the final and the early bird singles crown went to Linton Hickman who won the final 3-1 against Gary Blackwood.