Trim proves to be a cut above as he nets title

CHRIS TRIM beat Andy White in the final to win the Howie Baldacchino Trophy.

Friday, 15th April 2016, 6:00 am
Pascal Richard

The over-50s competition is all handicapped with the early rounds best of three and the final best of five.

In the semi-final, Trim played fellow team-mate John Peers and won the game 2-0.

Heath Smith, playing in this competition for the first time, lost 2-0 to White.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Trim had a 30-point advantage in the final and took advantage by winning the first two frames.

White hit back to take the third but Trim finished the job to win 4-1.

In the Alan Betteridge Cup scratch pairs Pascal Richard and Chloe White turned on the style to win.

They beat Emma Bonney and Nigel Ward in the final.

First White and Richard saw off Tony Hansford and Andy Boulton in the last four.

It was a very tight first frame that went to White and Richard.

A 33 break from Richard was top class.

It consisted of doubling the blue and then the pink and he then cut the black down the rail to lead 2-0.

In the third frame it was all Richard as he made a 56 break and at that stage the opposition conceded it was all over for them.

In the second semi-final, Jon Sunderland and Scott Compton lost out 3-1 to Bonney and Ward.

The final was a hard-fought battle with the first frame going to Bonney and Ward.

In frame two, a good safety shot from White allowed Richard a chance and he rattled in a 63 break to level the tie.

The third frame went to White and Richard but they did not get a shot in the fourth frame.

In the final frame White and Richard took their time as they built up a lead.

Then a decisive 33 break from Richard proved the turning point as they left their opponents needing snookers and picked up the trophy.

In the final of the Peter Rook League Cup team knockout competition, Craneswater A took on SESA Broadoak.

The first game saw Rob Kirby of Craneswater make a 32 break.

And he went on to win both of his frames.

This was backed up by Colin Rowe, Mick Kirby and Mike Talmondt, who all won their matches to take their team over the winning line.

It had been looking good for SESA as they played well in the quarter-final and semi-final.

But they found it hard going in the final as they came up against a very in-form team.

Captain Claire Branscombe and Mark Frampton were the only frame winners for their side.

But they still lost the match 10-2 as Craneswater showed their class to earn a dominant success.