Young clinches decider to lift Graham Arms

Graham Arms moved out of Portsmouth Men's Winter League division C's bottom two as they triumphed 5-4 over Froddington Arms.

Thursday, 16th March 2017, 6:30 am
Updated Friday, 24th March 2017, 11:24 am
Keith Mayne

Rob Knowles, Martyn Simmons, Terry Griffiths and Allen Watson propelled Graham into a commanding 4-0 lead.

But Froddington fought back to draw level through Paul Lipscombe, Ron Hannam, Ian Ogilvie and Ron Waters.

Graham’s Nigel Young won the decider.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Thatchers moved within two points of division D’s top three as they beat Fawcett Inn 6-3.

Thatchers wasted little time in bagging the points as Dan Paddon, Mark North, Chris Lawrence, Gary Ramshead and Chris Diamond put them 5-1 up, with only Steve Goodeve offering any early resistance from Fawcett.

Josh Olden and William Leach took late consolations for Fawcett, either side of David Edwards adding a sixth win for Thatchers.

Mr Pickwick leapfrogged Jolly Taxpayer C into third place in division A after beating them 5-4.

Malcolm Ogden opened proceedings for Pickwick but Paul La Roche hit straight back for Taxpayer.

Pickwick then took control with sets from Phil Rudder, Vic Smith and Allan Lloyd putting them 4-1 up but Steve Ockendon and Shaun O’Donovan were on hand to keep Taxpayer in the match.

Julian Court won the penultimate set to give Pickwick the match before Gary Smith took a late consolation for Taxpayer.

At the top of division B, Old House at Home had their lead cut to two points as they suffered a 6-3 defeat at the hands of Jolly Taxpayer B.

Old House duo Ken Dean and Chris Jafkins took legs either side of Taxpayer’s David Gough.

David Clarke and George Davis put Taxpayer 3-2 up but a walkover for Liam Jafkins took Old House level.

Barry Evans, Tom Money and Ted Andrews sealed the win for Taxpayer.

Shane Williams (Rose in June B) threw a 12-dart leg while Lee Smith (Phoenix North End B) recorded 14 and 18-darters and Liam O’Driscoll (Admiral Drake C) had a 15-dart effort and 180.

Phil King (Star & Garter) finished a leg in 17 darts, Sam Head (Admiral Drake B) notched 17 and 18-dart legs and his team-mate Mike Symes had a 17-darter with a 180.

Dean Jones (Lord Chichester B) registered two 18-darters and Kevin Gilchrist (Lord Chichester B), Darrell Manchip (Newcome Arms A) and Bill Sturgess (Admiral Drake B) also finished legs in 18 darts.

Jimmy Lampitt (John Jacques) checked out on 122 and Keith Elford (Meon) hit a 117 finish.

Ray Marsh (Druids Arms A) and Keith Mayne (Portland Arms) both fired in maximums.