Countdown begins to the Youth Awards 2016

It's time to recognise the young heroes of our community.

Thursday, 19th May 2016, 6:00 am
Last year's Youth Awards Picture: Ian Hargreaves (150970a-24)

We asked our readers to nominate the young people who make a difference – and nominate they certainly did.

Since launching the Youth Awards 2016 at the end of February, we have received a total of 92 nominations.

And the stories of these young people are truly inspirational.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

We have heard about children who have overcome cancer, others who have helped their family in times of crisis, while others have smiled in the face of adversity.

The talent in our community has been shown as we had nominations from youth theatres, musicians, writers and children who have done exceptionally well at school.

Some children have raised thousands of pounds for charity, while others have gone the extra mile to help the environment or their local neighbourhood.

Many of these wonderful stories will be featured in The News next week as we take a look at the nominations.

All the nominations are now with our judges, who include the editor of The News Mark Waldron and representatives from the sponsors of the awards.

It comes as the countdown begins for the awards show, which takes place at the Kings Theatre in Southsea on Sunday, June 12.

The show starts at 2pm, with doors open from 1.30pm.

Tickets are now available – and the best bit is they are all free!

Liz Parker, one of the organisers, is excited about the upcoming show, which will include entertainment as well as the awards presentation.

She said: ‘I’m thrilled with the support we have had for the Youth Awards this year.

‘I want to thank each and every person that took the time to nominate.

‘I want a full house at the Kings Theatre, so please get in touch for tickets.’

Mark Waldron said: ‘This is the third year of The News Youth Awards and the support seems to grow every year.

‘The judges are going to face a tough time deciding who are the winners and runners-up in the categories.’

For tickets, email [email protected].

People must state who they are supporting (the name of the nominee), how many tickets they need, a contact phone number and whether they need wheelchair access or any special seating requirements.

Alternatively call Liz Parker on (023) 9262 2206.

People can also call the Kings Theatre box office on (023) 9282 8282.

ARTS/MEDIA STAR - sponsored by Fareham College

Charlotte Avery

Jasmin Hughes

Jessie Pearse

Skyla Swan

Harrison Jones


Zak Harris

Abigail Handley

Kate Russell


Amiee Oldland

Claudia Payne

Donald Ogilvie

Eden Rainbow Cooper

Ewan Butterworth

Finlay Cousins

Hannah Watts

William Flynn

Jacob-Kanu Smith

Matthew Nolan

Wyatt Humphry


Bo Wakley

Lewis Hine

Ben Price

Catherine Beachill

Maisie Hymers

Willow Travers-Ayre, Sonet Strachan, Elena Barter, Sophie


Abigail Winfield

Bradley Harding-Martin and Liam Percival

Alfie Rawding

Hope Farren

Elouise Patterson


Lewis Hine

Marcus Allison

Jacob - Kanu Smith

Andrew Impey


Amiee Oldland

Chloe Hine

Helen Daddow

Megan Wade

Nikita White

Andrew Impey

Ben Price

Taylor Holloway

Theo Hornsey

Amber Howden

Lewis Smith

Archie Hayward

LEARNER OF THE YEAR - sponsored by Highbury College

Aimee Wragg

Alissa Hadley

Archie Hayward

Barnaby Miles

Lewis Wells

Zach Wheeler


Elliot Swann

Chelsea Lane

Barnaby Miles

Ben Graham

Ben Jackson

Chloe Hine

Luke Tuffs

Lily Gray

Jessica Fitzjohn

Lewis Smith

STAGE STAR - sponsored by the Kings Theatre

Elliot Swann

Havant Dynamo Youth Theatre

Abby Grimshaw

Bluebell Lane

Fareham Musical Society Youth Theatre

India Taylor

Miranda Elliot

Adam Brombley

Horndean Community Association

Aaliyah Mathieu


Andrew Palmer

Cadet Corporal Beatrice Grant-


Charlie Wilson

Ellie Hill and Katie Edwards-


Emily Frost

Hannah Woodason

Havant Volunteer Police Cadets

Millie Payne

Nikita White

The Futurators

Lilly Moore

Hope Farren

Callum Allan

STAR OF THE ENVIRONMENT - sponsored by Verisona Law

Luke Tuffs

QE Park – Little Squirrels – toddler/parent

Students of Churchers College

St Alban’s Cof E Assisted Primary


Matthew Taylor (known to his friends as Matty)

Ellie-Mae Wheeler

Theo Hornsey

Amber Howden