Dragon caught cold by Pembroke

George & Dragon didn't deliver the goods in the Portsmouth Men's League as they lost their division C relegation clash with Pembroke 6-3.

Sam Head. Picture: Mick Young
Sam Head. Picture: Mick Young

Pembroke took control early on with Martin Downs, Nigel Teague, John Bailey and Matt Cook notching legs.

Shane Plummer’s 130 game-shot pulled one back for George.

But Pembroke’s Steve Brett bagged the points with the next leg.

Anthony Plummer and Les Browne took consolations for George before Danny Jones rounded things off for Pembroke.

Phoenix Southsea came from behind three times to beat Rose in June A 5-4 in division D.

Rose’s Ian Saynor put them 1-0 up but Daniel Cronin restored parity for Phoenix.

An 18-dart leg from Rob Ford restored Rose’s lead.

But again Phoenix pulled level courtesy of Dave Bishop.

Brian Ford and Graham Turner put Rose within a leg of victory but that was all they could muster with John Sullivan, Mick Mulvey and David Tait sweeping Phoenix to victory.

Mr Pickwick pulled away from division A’s bottom three with a 5-4 triumph over Rose in June B.

Charlie Linkhorn, Phil Rudder and Malcolm Ogden put Pickwick 3-1 up after Andy Collins won the first set for Rose.

Pickwick’s Liam Jafkins hit a 119 game-shot in the next set but Shane Williams won for Rose.

Julian Court made it 4-2 to Pickwick, before Chris Harradine replied.

Allan Lloyd gave Pickwick victory before Lee Smith got a consolation.

Division B leaders Druids Arms A continued their good form with a 5-4 win against Duke of Devonshire.

Brett Smith, with a 112 finish, Neil Hallett, Alan Smith, Keith Horn and John Rogers struck for Druids.

Len Eastland, Norman Hollis, Kev Goodall and Paul Simmonds responded for Duke.

Chris Jafkins (Admiral Drake B) threw a 15-dart leg and 120 game-shot while team-mate Sam Head recorded 16 and 18-darters with a 180.

Shane Filleul (Newcome Arms A) registered a 17-dart effort.

And Dave Stewart (Portland Arms), Barry Gibson, Lee O’Donovan, Steve Filby, Andy Newcombe (all Jolly Taxpayer C) and Bruce Baker (Shearer Arms) all finished legs in 18 darts.

Stewart, Gibson and Baker checked-out on 106, 105 and 100 respectively.

Barry Stevens (Admiral Drake B) hit a 120 game-shot and Andrew Smith (Stag A) finished with 108.

Alan O’Donovan, Anthony Quintavalle (both Jolly Taxpayer C), Laurie Clark (Old House at Home B), Darrell Manchip (Newcome Arms A), Tony Price (Newcome Arms B), Kalvin Legg (Old House at Home C), Liam O’Driscoll (Portland Arms), Michael Chandler (Eldon Arms) and Josh Olden (Fawcett Inn) all fired in maximums.