Portsmouth in Carabao Cup first round draw tomorrow: key dates, teams involved and tournament changes

Pompey are set to learn their Carabao Cup first-round opponents tomorrow.

Monday, 17th August 2020, 6:00 pm

The first round stage is one of seven ties en-route to the final at Wembley – so here's everything you need to know about the opening round of matches:

When is the first-round draw?The draw for the first round of the Carabao Cup will take place on Tuesday, August 18, at 10am on Sky Sports News.Which teams are in the first-round draw?Championship, League One and Two clubs enter the draw the first round stage.Championship teams: Barnsley, Birmingham City, Blackburn Rovers, Bournemouth, Brentford, Bristol City, Cardiff City, Coventry City, Derby County, Huddersfield Town, Luton Town, Middlesbrough, Millwall, Norwich City, Nottingham Forest, Preston North End, Queens Park Rangers, Reading, Rotherham United, Sheffield Wednesday, Stoke City, Swansea City, Watford, Wycombe Wanderers.League One teams: Accrington Stanley, AFC Wimbledon, Blackpool, Bristol Rovers, Burton Albion, Charlton Athletic, Crewe Alexandra, Doncaster Rovers, Fleetwood Town, Gillingham, Hull City, Ipswich Town, Lincoln City, MK Dons, Northampton Town, Oxford United, Peterborough United, Plymouth Argyle, Pompey, Rochdale, Shrewsbury Town, Sunderland, Swindon Town, Wigan Athletic.League Two teams: Barrow, Bolton Wanderers, Bradford City, Cambridge United, Carlisle United, Cheltenham Town, Colchester United, Crawley Town, Exeter City, Forest Green Rovers, Grimsby Town, Harrogate Town, Leyton Orient, Mansfield Town, Morecambe, Newport County, Oldham Athletic, Port Vale, Salford City, Scunthorpe United, Southend United, Stevenage, Tranmere Rovers, Walsall.When will the first-round ties take place?The first round ties are scheduled to take place on Saturday, September 5, a week before the Championship, League One and Two campaign kick-offs.However, ties involving Championship clubs – and in some cases, League One and Two teams – will likely be re-arranged to avoid clashing with the international break.What’s changed from last season’s competition?Not a lot. As per last season, the 72 teams in the first round will be split into north and south sections to avoid excess travel.The only difference is that a traditional two-legged semi-final will now become a one-off game.There is no extra-time if tied after 90 minutes, meaning clubs will go straight to penalties again.

A message from the editor

Sign up to our Portsmouth FC newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Thank you for reading this story. The dramatic events of 2020 are having a major impact on our advertisers and thus our revenues.

The News is more reliant than ever on you taking out a digital subscription to support our journalism. You can subscribe here for unlimited access to Portsmouth news and information online.

Every subscription helps us continue providing trusted, local journalism and campaign on your behalf for our city

Pompey at QPR in the Carabao Cup last season