Stag party as Taxpayer pay the price

Stag A move up to third place in division four of the Portsmouth Men's Summer League following a 5-4 victory over Jolly Taxpayer B.

Tuesday, 6th November 2018, 11:25 am
Updated Tuesday, 6th November 2018, 12:31 pm

Matt Jeffery got Stag off to a winning start, before Taxpayer took the lead with legs from Alex Adams and Chris Wallis.

But Stag wasted no further time in bagging the points as Mick Neilson, Tom Jeffery, Andy Healey and Craig Bridgewater rattled off four legs on the trot.

Gary Tobbitt and David Gough took the remaining ties as consolations for Taxpayer.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Newcome Arms C earned their first points of the season with a 6-3 triumph over Admiral Drake A.

Drake took the initial lead through Mark Mitchell but Newcome wasted no further time in securing victory as David West, Paul Flannery, Nathan Hutchesson, Anton Ward, Steve Wood jnr and Robert Oliver put them 6-1 up.

Chris Potter and Martin Coles took the last two legs to make the scoreline more respectable for Drake.

Lord Chichester B maintained their 100-per-cent record in division one with a 7-2 win against Rose in June B.

Mike Feaver opened proceedings for Chichester but Rose hit straight back as Chris Harradine pulled them level with an 18-darter, despite Chichester's Ray Williams hitting 171 against him.

Chichester then seized control as Ross Hughes, Darren Barnes, Justin Hughes '“ 18-dart leg '“ and John Madgwick gave them an insurmountable lead.

Michael Neat won a consolation for Rose, before Kevin Gilchrist and Ross Fury completed a comprehensive win for Chichester.

Rose in June C head division two thanks to a 7-2 triumph over George & Dragon B.

Fon Owen, Chris Jafkins and Liam Jafkins propelled Rose into a 3-0 lead, before Mark French got George off the mark.

Shaun Roberts restored Rose's three-set advantage but George's Les Phipps made it 3-2 to keep his side in touch.

But it was one-way traffic from there on as Rose's Arthur Morey, Trevor Rogers and Ron Jafkins took the remaining clashes.

Oyster House A moved off the foot of division three as they inflicted a first defeat of the season on Phoenix North End C, emerging as 5-4 victors.

Rob Loveridge won the first set for Oyster but they were soon trailing as Peter Smith, Ian Vincent and James Adams put Phoenix 3-1 up.

Oyster struck back as James Bedden, Toby George and Raymond Riggs put them just one win from taking the match.

Phoenix's Anthony Adams was awarded the penultimate set as a walkover, before Alex Hood sealed victory for Oyster with a 130 game-shot.

Phil Mercer (Lord Chichester A), Lee O'Donovan, Dan Carter (both Jolly Taxpayer C) and James Brooker (Admiral Drake B) all threw 14-dart legs, with Carter also notching an 18-darter and 180.

Mike Symes (Admiral Drake B) and Gregorio Bartayres (Portland Arms) registered 17-dart efforts, with Bartayres scoring 180.

There were 18-dart legs from Barry Stevens, Danny Smith (both Admiral Drake B), Neil Hewson (Milton Arms), David Smith, Gary Smith (both Jolly Taxpayer C), Lee Smith, Dan Eade (both Phoenix North End B) and Dan Legg (Shearer Arms).

Stevens, Lee Smith and Legg all scored 180, Hewson scored 174 and David Smith checked-out on 110.

Ricky Udy (Shearer Arms) hit a 126 finish, while Dan Shambrook and Nicky Lamb (both Clarence Gardens) hit 121 and 120 game-shots respectively.

Keith Mayne (Portland Arms) checked-out on 102 and Darren Mannell (Pelham Arms) had a 100 finish.

Steve Todd (Phoenix North End B), Sam Palmer, Lee Brothers (both Shearer Arms), James Scammell (The Meon) and Paul Richmond (Clarence Gardens) all fired in maximums and Steve Read (The Tap) scored 156.

Newcome Arms B are looking for players, anyone interested should contact Ron Neale on 023 92838434 or 07795 380393.