Whitlock claims third successive Portsmouth Individual League victory

Simon Whitlock took top honours in week seven of the Portsmouth Individual Darts League.

Wednesday, 26th February 2020, 1:39 pm
Updated Wednesday, 26th February 2020, 1:40 pm
Simon Whitloc. Picture: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

As a result, he claimed his third consecutive win.

Whitlock threw an 11-dart leg in his run to the top spot which he sealed with a 4-0 win over Rob Modra in the final.

He had previously beaten Andy Jenkins 4-0 in the semis and Lee Smith 4-1 in the last eight.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Modra, who also notched an 11-darter and 12 maximums, won his quarter-final against Paul Gibbs 4-2 before beating Johnny Kinsella in the next round.

Charlie Hymers and Lloyd Walker both reached the last eight.

Corrine Hammond won the plate competition with Liam Jafkins finishing as runner-up.

The night’s highest finish was a 167 game-shot from Richard North.


Froddington Arms leapfrogged Duke of Devonshire in Division 4 of the Portsmouth Winter Darts League after beating them 6-3.

Derek Toms, Ron Hannam, Cyril Hallett and Alan Miller gave Froddington a 4-1 lead with only John Elverson providing an early reply.

Steve Houghton was on the mark in the sixth leg to keep Duke in the match, but Dave Paul and Allen Gaymer won the next two clashes to give Froddington an insurmountable lead.

Robert Houghton won the final leg as a consolation for Duke.

Mermaid A came from behind to triumph 5-4 over Admiral Drake A in Division 5.

Drake were propelled into a 3-0 lead with wins from Carl Spratt, Richard Linford and Mark Mitchell.

But Stuart Edwards, Edward Harding, Arnie Le Rouge and Jamie Poulter moved Mermaid 4-3 up.

Drake couldn’t field a full side so Spratt was redrawn in the eighth leg which he won to force a decider, which Luke Roberts won for Mermaid.

Shearer Arms gained vital points in their Division 1 relegation battle as they enjoyed a 7-2 win over Milton Arms.

Brett Smith, Sam Palmer (180) and Dan Legg (102 finish) gave Shearer a 3-0 lead before Paul Easterbrook got Milton off the mark.

Shearer wasted no further time in bagging the points as Robert Blake, Ricky Udy, Del Thomson and John Rogers rattled off four on the trot before Kevin Wilson took a consolation.

Lady Hamilton kept themselves in Division 2’s promotion race as they overcame Druids Arms B 7-2.

Hamilton were quick out the blocks as Howard Price, Gary Miller, Michael Chandler (18-dart leg), John Fields and Matt Lock put them 5-0 up.

Ian Marsh got Druids off the mark before James Elliott and Ryan Jennings added to Hamilton’s tally.

Hamilton were a player short and needed a redraw for the last set, but Druids’ Sean Etherington won it as a late consolation.

Phoenix North End A stay two points clear at the top of Division 3 as they came from behind to beat Old House at Home 7-2.

Jon Tazewell threw an 18-darter and 116 finish as he took the opener for Phoenix, but they were soon behind as Adrian Jones and Ian Sprake moved Old House 2-1 up.

Phoenix then regained control as wins from Dean Allen, Ben Longcake and Stan Brimecome jnr gave them a 4-2 advantage.

Old House only had six players so had to do redraws for the remaining ties, but they were all taken by Phoenix trio Paul Jerome, Chris Shaw and Stan Brimecome snr (18-dart leg).

Mike Symes (Admiral Drake B) threw a 13-dart leg while Andy Holbrow (Baffins) and Ross Hughes (Lord Chichester B) both notched 15-darters with Holbrow hitting 180.

There were 16-dart legs from Darren Barnes (Lord Chichester B) and Aaron Canwell (Phoenix North

End C) and Laurie Clark (Fountain A), Barry Stevens (Admiral Drake B) and Lloyd Walker (PhoenixNorth End B) all finished legs in 17 darts, Walker also scored 180.

Darren Hogg (Clarence Gardens) and David Place jnr (Stag B) recorded 18-dart efforts with Place checking-out on 118.

Steve Greenwood (Jolly Taxpayer A), Neil Hallett, Gary Smith (both Jolly Taxpayer C), Stephen Holmes (Newcome Arms A), Mark Spain (Barley Mow), Martin Carlyle (Fountain B), Jack Seymour and John Madgwick (both Lord Chichester B) all fired in maximums.