Horndean striker Connor Duffin ends curtailed season as Wessex League Premier Division top scorer

Horndean’s Connor Duffin ended the curtailed Wessex League Premier Division season as the section’s leading league marksman.

Sunday, 28th February 2021, 6:44 pm
Horndean's Connor Duffin finished the curtailed Wessex League Premier Division season with 11 goals in as many games. Picture: Keith Woodland

He netted 11 times in as many starts to finish one goal in front of Hamworthy United’s Cameron Munn.

The Deans won seven of their last eight league games with Duffin scoring twice in wins against Blackfield (3-2), AFC Stoneham (3-1) and Alresford (6-0).

Munn possessed the better goals per game ratio, though - he scored 10 times in just six starts plus three off the bench.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Three of Munn’s goals came in a 4-0 Premier win at AFC Portchester on December 12.

Munn’s Hammers colleague Dan Cann was one of two players to net nine league goals in the pandemic-wrecked campaign.

The other was Portchester’s Lee Wort, whose tally included two hat-tricks - away at Portland and Bournemouth.

Wort must now wait and see whether he is part of new boss Dave Carter’s Crest Finance Stadium squad overhaul.

Three players netted eight Wessex Premier goals - Ashley Elson (Alresford) , John McKie (Cowes) and Billy Oram (Fleet).

McKie scored half of his goals in the space of 15 minutes after coming on as a second half sub in an 8-1 victory over Portland.

Fareham’s Callum Benfield was one of four players to net seven times in the Wessex top flight along with Cameron Beard (Bashley), Ed Hodge (Hamworthy) and River Smith (Blackfield).

Hodge’s tally included a hat-trick in a 4-0 away victory at Baffins Milton Rovers.

In Division 1 of the Wessex League, US Portsmouth playmaker James Franklyn struck 10 times - four fewer than Laverstock’s Russell Jones.

George Bowerman (Alton) netted 12 league goals and Clayd Roach (Folland) scored 11.

Justin Bennett, Gosport Borough’s all-time record marksman, struck nine times for Bemerton Heath Harlequins.