Pompey announce squad numbers

Paul Jones has retained his number one shirt following the announcement of Pompey's squad numbers.

Wednesday, 20th July 2016, 3:45 pm
Updated Wednesday, 20th July 2016, 4:48 pm
Milan Lalkovic is number 10. Picture: Ian Hargreaves

Paul Cook is continuing to search for a new Fratton Park stopper as he finalises his side for another promotion push.

Regardless, Jones keeps the shirt he has worn since his summer 2014 arrival.

However, the goalkeeping jerseys of Brian Murphy (24) and Ryan Fulton (27) are presently vacant, while Alex Bass keeps his number 35.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Elsewhere in the squad, Tom Davies has taken the number two shirt previously sported by namesake Ben Davies.

Adam Webster’s departure for Ipswich Town has allowed Danny Rose to wear his number four, while Milan Lalkovic has Marc McNulty’s number 10.

Following Matt Tubbs’ switch to Forest Green Rovers, Michael Smith has been handed the number nine shirt.

Smith previously occupied number 21 during his Pompey loan spell in the second half of last season.

Adam McGurk and Kal Naismith have no future at the club and as a result have not been allocated shirts.

Their numbers have instead been given to Carl Baker (seven) and Curtis Main (14).

Drew Talbot gets the number 25 sported so rarely by loanee Conor Wilkinson.

Meanwhile, Matt Clarke moves from number 20 to five following his permanent arrival from Ipswich this summer.

Finally, Danny Hollands’ number 29 has yet to be allocated.

The midfielder is still hopeful of a new deal as he continues his rehabilitation from injury.


1 Paul Jones

2 Tom Davies

3 Enda Stevens

4 Danny Rose

5 Matt Clarke

6 Christian Burgess

7 Carl Baker

8 Michael Doyle

9 Michael Smith

10 Milan Lalkovic

11 Gary Roberts

14 Curtis Main

15 Adam Barton

16 Jack Whatmough

18 Ben Tollitt

19 Conor Chaplin

23 Kyle Bennett

25 Drew Talbot

26 Gareth Evans

30 Adam May

31 Calvin Davies

32 Christian Oxlade-Chamberlain

33 Ben Close

35 Alex Bass

38 Brandon Haunstrup