Play-off spot for Portsmouth, Oxford, Wycombe and Fleetwood - decision to come on curtailing League One

Pompey’s play-off semi-final place has been confirmed – providing the League One campaign is curtailed.

Tuesday, 9th June 2020, 1:09 pm
Updated Tuesday, 9th June 2020, 3:33 pm
League One's members have finally agreed an outcome for the 2019-20 campaign. Picture: Bryn Lennon/Getty Images

At today’s Football League EGM, members assessed new proposals and voted on changes to regulations should the 2019-20 campaign not be fulfilled.

That included agreement to retain a four-team play-off format, the use of unweighted points per game calculation and promotion and relegation.

That ensures Pompey, Oxford United, Wycombe and Fleetwood as League One’s play-off participants.

Sign up to our Portsmouth FC newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Next, League One clubs must formally decide whether to resume the 2019-20 season – or opt for curtailment.

Should the campaign end, purely the play-off programme will stand.

In statement, Football League chairman Rick Parry said: ‘Whilst it has always remained the Board’s position to play the remainder of the season where possible, the decision reached at today’s meeting follows a full and considered consultation period with our member Clubs.

‘The Board has endeavoured to listen to all views and alternative approaches but understands that the decisions taken will not be met with universal satisfaction from all Clubs.

‘Today’s outcome ensures that the League and its Clubs remains as faithful as possible to the previously agreed Regulations and that there is consistency in the approach adopted across the EFL in all divisions if required.

‘It is clear that the challenges facing the League from the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic are unprecedented and I thank the contribution of EFL Clubs in making this important determination.’