Froddington flying high after beating Duke

FRODDINGTON ARMS B beat Duke of Devonshire B 5-4 to cement their position in second place in Portsmouth Summer League division B.

By The Newsroom
Thursday, 26th May 2016, 7:30 am
Froddington's Louis Arnell. Picture: Sarah Standing (160515-7317)
Froddington's Louis Arnell. Picture: Sarah Standing (160515-7317)

Derek Sutton won the opener for Duke before Froddington’s Dan Graf and Daniel Browne struck to take the next two legs.

Peter Neale scored 165 as he pulled Duke level but Froddington moved 3-2 up through Liam Emery.

Duke restored parity with a leg from Adrian Jones.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

However, Louis Arnell and Mick Pearse sealed Froddington’s win.

Russell Wanley took a late consolation for Duke.

Portland Arms held on to their slender lead at the top of division C with a 6-3 win over Graham Arms A.

Portland stormed into a 4-1 lead with legs from Paul Drinkwater, Keith Mayne, Gregorio Bartayres and Anthony Small, who checked out on 100.

Graham’s Martin Simmons struck and Nigel Young was also on the mark with a 112 finish.

Asa Norris then won the match for Portland with the next leg.

Alan Watson claimed a third leg for Graham before Liam O’Driscoll added Portland’s sixth.

Red White & Blue beat Barley Mow 6-3 in division D.

Keith Elford struck first for Red White & Blue but Rae Lawson replied.

Pete McKeon, Jim Scammell and Gary Tobitt put Red White & Blue in charge.

Mow pulled the score back to 4-3 as Greg Tooke and Pete Roberts won legs but James Scammell and Alex Adams sealed Red White & Blue’s win.

Admiral Drake B’s Mike Symes notched 16 and 17-dart legs and a 180 as they beat Stag A 7-2 in division A.

Barry Stevens had a 16-darter and 180 and Charlie Jackson an 18-dart leg.

Stag’s Andrew Smith also scored 180.

Darren Barnes (Newcome Arms A) fired in a 15-dart leg and 118 game-shot.

Wes Farminer (Shearer Arms) also had a 16-darter, Michael Chandler (Eldon Arms) finished in 16 darts and Vince Aston (Phoenix North End B) threw a 17-dart effort.

Andy Newcombe (Jolly Taxpayer C), Shane Filleul, John Richmond (both Newcome Arms A), Liam Jafkins (Mr Pickwick B), Charlie Linkhorn and Vic Smith (both Mr Pickwick A) all notched 18-darters.

Filleul and Smith checked out on 115 and 101 respectively.

Frank Butcher (Oyster House B) hit a 129 game-shot and Lee Smith (Phoenix North End B) a 110 finish.

Paul Richmond (Newcome Arms A), Paul Miller, Dave Gisby (Star & Garter), Lee Smith (Graham Arms A), Ray Williams (Lord Chichester B) and Ron Udy (Druids Arms B) all fired in maximums.

Brian Dickson (Druids Arms A) scored 156 and Anthony Plummer (George & Dragon) scored 152.