Impressive Chichester continue unbeaten run

LORD CHICHESTER A remain undefeated at the top of division C in Portsmouth Men's Winter League after beating Stag B 5-4.

Thursday, 3rd November 2016, 6:30 am
Updated Wednesday, 16th November 2016, 3:55 pm
Dean Jones

Pete Curtis, David Place Snr and Phil Mercer put Chichester into a commanding lead before Mark Cunningham got Stag off the mark.

Chichester took the fifth leg through Terry Dugan to move just one win from victory.

And, although Dion Jukes grabbed the following leg to keep Stag in the match, Pat Reed soon bagged the points for Chichester.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Jim Snook and Dean Sumner took late consolations for Stag.

Battle of Minden earned their first points of the season in division D as they triumphed 5-4 over Phoenix Southsea.

Nick Rizzuto and David Tait both gave Phoenix early leads but each time Minden immediately cancelled them out with Colin Pedelty and then Roger Ward on the mark.

Ray Shaw put Minden in front for the first time only for Pete Hickman to restore parity for Phoenix.

Minden regained the lead thanks to Jay Johnson.

But Phoenix’s John Nash claimed the penultimate leg to force a decider which John Higgins took to seal victory for Minden.

Rose in June B secured a 6-3 victory over Star & Garter in division A.

Mark Ford and Chris Harradine put Rose 2-1 up with sets either side of a Star win from Phil King.

Gary Hayward pulled Star level but Rose wasted no further time in sealing the win.

Shane Williams, Michael Neat and Ian Pearce gave them an insurmountable lead, with Williams throwing a 15-dart leg.

Chris Skeffington took a consolation for Star.

Then Rob Ford added a sixth for Rose.

Duke of Devonshire A claimed a convincing 7-2 derby triumph over their pub’s B team in division B.

Paul Simmonds, Harry Rogers and John Elverson put the A side into a 3-0 lead.

Steve Houghton and Robert Houghton responded for the B side.

But that was all they could muster as the A team’s Trevor Clements, Len Eastland, Kev Goodall and James Fyfield took the remaining clashes.

Charlie Linkhorn (Mr Pickwick) recorded a 16-dart leg.

And there were 18-darters from Darren Barnes (Newcome Arms A), Kevin Wilson (Mr Pickwick), Ross Hughes, Dean Jones (both Lord Chichester B), Bruce Baker, Jon Bramble (both Shearer Arms), Danny Smith (Admiral Drake B), Jim Adams (Artillery Arms) and Jon Davison (Eldon Arms).

Jones and Wilson also fired in maximums, as did Les Rance, Craig McEwan (both Phoenix North End B), Robert Blake (Shearer Arms) and Liam Jafkins (Old House at Home).