Southern Brave sign David Warner and Danny Briggs for this summer’s Hundred tournament

The Southern Brave have completed their men’s squad for this summer’s Hundred tournament by signing Australian superstar David Warner and former Hampshire star Danny Briggs.

Tuesday, 23rd February 2021, 12:55 pm
David Warner will be playing at The Ageas Bowl for the Southern Brave in the Hundred this summer. Pic: Simon Cooper/PA Wire.

Warner was a first-round pick by the Ageas Bowl based franchise in 2020 but pulled out in the early stages of the pandemic due to scheduling issues. The tournament was subsequently abandoned.

Warner had not been expected to re-enter this year’s draft, but the postponement of Australia’s tour of South Africa has eased his workload.

He was one of over 250 overseas players who were included in today’s auction, all bidding to fill just one of seven slots among the eight franchises who are each limited to three foreign signings.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

He was one of 10 overseas players who had the highest possible reserve price of £100,000.

The 34-year-old now takes his place in a Brave top order which also contains Hampshire skipper James Vince and Warne’s fellow Aussie Marcus Stoinis

Warner was the third player picked in today’s draft after West Indies pair Nic Pooran and Kieron Pollard were snapped up by Manchester Originals and Welsh Fire respectively.

Mahela Jayawardene, Southern Brave’s head coach, said: ‘To be able to bring David (Warner) back into the fold is a huge boost for our team.

‘We were so excited when we grabbed him in the first draft, so it’s great to have him back.

‘To also bring in someone of Danny Briggs’ quality as well is exciting for this team.’

Warner is one of world cricket’s most destructive opening batsmen with 24 Test centuries, 18 ODI centuries and one T20I century to his name.

With 9,824 runs, he is the fifth highest run scorer in T20 history.

Only West Indian master blaster Chris Gayle (22) has scored more hundreds than Warner (8) while the latter has also plundered 80 half-centuries - 38 of them for Sunrisers in the Indian Premier League.

Two of Warner’s centuries came in the space of four days for New South Wales in the 2011 Champions League tournament.

They included his career best 135 not out off 69 balls against Chennai Super Kings.

Warner’s sole T20 century for Australia was his 100 not out off 56 balls against Sri Lanka in October 2019.

The last of his 18 ODI centuries was scored last month in a remarkable game against India in Mumbai.

After the hosts had been bowled out for 255, Warner and fellow opener Aaron Finch both plundered tons in a stunning 10-wicket success.

Warner’s unbeaten 128 off 112 balls included 17 fours and three sixes while Finch was undefeated on 110 off 114 deliveries.

The Sydney-born batsman has four times passed 150 in ODI cricket, with a top score of 179 against Pakistan at Adelaide in 2017.

Briggs is the third highest English-qualified wicket-taker in T20 history with 197 victims.

The 29-year-old took 119 of them in six seasons for Hampshire between 2010-2016 - when the county qualified for T20 Finals Day in the first five of those years.

The only two English players who have taken more career T20 wickets are his Sussex colleagues Ravi Bopara (234) and Chris Jordan (227).

Meanwhile, Brave women’s team head coach Charlotte Edwards has signed England all-rounder Sophia Dunkley.

Players are being signed on an individual basis by the eight teams in the women’s competition, with no equivalent draft event. Teams will continue to fill their squads over the coming months.

Both Brave men’s and women’s teams will play games on the same day and at the same ground, starting with a trip to Nottingham to face Trent Rockets on July 24.

The first Brave home game is against Birmingham Phoenix on Friday, July 30.

Brave men’s squad: Jofra Archer, Andre Russell, David Warner, James Vince, Chris Jordan, Marcus Stoinis, Tymal Mills, Liam Dawson, Delray Rawlins, Alex Davies, George Garton, Craig Overton, Danny Briggs, Max Waller, Ross Whiteley.

Women’s squad: Danni Wyatt, Anya Shrubsole, Stafanie Taylor, Sophie Dunkley, Maia Bouchier, Paige Scholfield, Freya Kemp, Fritha Morris, Tara Norris, Carla Rudd, Lauren Bell, Sonia Odedra, Amelia Kerr.