Taxpayer top table after Jolly good show

Jolly Taxpayer C top Portsmouth Men's Summer League division A after their 7-2 win over Mr Pickwick A.

Thursday, 12th May 2016, 8:00 am
Steve Filby. Picture: Mick Young (14343-15)

Malcolm Ogden opened proceedings for Pickwick but they were soon 4-1 down as Taxpayer took sets courtesy of Paul La Roche, Steve Filby – with a 180, Shaun O’Donovan and a walkover for Lee O’Donovan.

Charlie Linkhorn kept Pickwick in the match.

But that was all they mustered as Rob White, Jim Mortimer and Shane Hore took the last sets for Taxpayer.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Liam McGuire threw an 18-dart leg against Hore.

Star & Garter suffered their first loss of the season in division B as they went down 6-3 to Artillery Arms.

Phil King and Dave King made a positive start for Star – putting them 2-1 up with legs either side of an Artillery win from Barry Lennard.

Roy Morran and Joe Davis put Artillery ahead for the first time before Dave Gisby restored parity.

It was one-way traffic from there on with Stephen Hope, Steve Woodage and Derek Manchip completing a convincing triumph for Artillery.

Druids Arms B moved up to second place in division C after enjoying a 6-3 win against Rose in June A, who are still searching for their first points of the season.

Walkovers for Darren Robson and Paul Boden put Druids 2-0 up.

And early wins by Phil Allen, Phil Ponsford and Tony Smith made the points safe.

Brad Lennox, Chris Pratt and Rob Ford restored some pride for Rose in June before Ian Attfield added Druids’ sixth.

Nell Gwynne secured their first win of the season as they beat Harvest Home A 5-4 after being awarded four walkovers.

Ash Richardson, Mark Patey, Ethan Dennis and Wayne Shepperd were the Nell players given wins to put them 4-0 up.

Joel Luke, Robert Tomkins and Phil Mercer were all on the mark to get Harvest back into the game.

But Nell’s Ben Lloyd won the penultimate clash to bag the points.

David Place Jnr took a late consolation for Harvest.

Sam Palmer (Shearer Arms) and Mike Symes (Admiral Drake B) both recorded 15-dart legs, while Barry Stevens (Admiral Drake B) registered a 16-darter and 180.

Gary Collis (Admiral Drake B) threw 17 and 18-dart efforts. Michael Neat (Rose in June B) and Robert Scott (The Tap) also finished legs in 17 darts, with Scott scoring 177.

Jon Bramble (Shearer Arms) notched an 18-darter and a pair of 110 finishes and Chris Harradine (Rose in June B) also threw an 18-dart leg.

Malcolm Smith (Oyster House B) checked out on 116.

Craig McEwan (Phoenix North End B) fired in two maximums, while there were also 180s from his team-mate Dan Eade and Shane Williams (Rose in June B).