General Election 2019: Full candidates list for Portsmouth, Gosport, Fareham, Havant, Meon Valley and East Hampshire

The UK will go to the polls tomorrow for the first December general election in nearly a century.

By Kieran Davey
Wednesday, 11th December 2019, 10:44 am

Voting will take place between 7am and 10pm, with prime minister Boris Johnson aiming for the Conservative party to achieve a parliamentary majority.

Nominations for candidates have now closed and councils have confirmed who is standing in seats across the Portsmouth area.

Conservative Penny Mordaunt will be looking to keep her seat in Portsmouth North, while in Portsmouth South Labour’s Stephen Morgan will face competition from city council leader Gerald Vernon-Jackson, for the Liberal Democrats, and leader of Portsmouth Conservatives Donna Jones.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Portsmouth South candidates, clockwise from top left, Tory Donna Jones, the Brexit Party's John Kennedy, Labour's Stephen Morgan and Lib Dem Gerald Vernon-Jackson Pictures: Habibur Rahman/PA/John Kennedy

Brexit Party leader Nigel Farage has announced that his party will not stand in seats won by the Conservatives in 2017, while the Liberal Democrats and Green Party have also made a Remain alliance pact in some seats, including Portsmouth South.

Here is the list of candidates for each of our local constituencies, listed by surname in alphabetical order:

Read More

Read More
Why you won't need ID to vote in General Election 2019

Portsmouth North

Prime Minister Boris Johnson following his audience with Queen Elizabeth II on November 6. Picture: Stefan Rousseau/PA Wire

Lloyd Day (Green)

Antonia Harrison (Lib Dem)

George Magdwick (Ind)

Amanda Martin (Lab)

Who will be named as Portsmouth's MPs? Picture: Shaun Roster

Penny Mordaunt (Con)

Portsmouth South

Steven George (The Justice & Anti-Corruption Party)

Donna Jones (Con)

John Kennedy (Brexit)

Stephen Morgan (Lab)

Gerald Vernon-Jackson (Lib Dem)


Alan Black (Social Democratic Party)

John Colman (Green)

Paul Gray (Lib Dem)

Rosamund Knight (Lab)

Alan Mak (Con)


Suella Braverman (Con)

Nick Lyle (Green)

Matthew Randall (Lab)

Matthew Winnington (Lib Dem)


Zoe Aspinall (Green)

Tom Chatwin (Lab)

Caroline Dinenage (Con)

Martin Pepper (Lib Dem)

Meon Valley

Matthew Bunday (Lab)

Flick Drummond (Con)

Lewis North (Lib Dem)

Malcolm Wallace (Green)

East Hampshire

Gaynor Austin (Lab)

David Buxton (Lib Dem)

Damian Hinds (Con)

Jim Makin (Ukip)

Zoe Parker (Green)

Eddie Trotter (The Justice and Anti-Corruption Party)